

For more than a century, Tohoku University has been consistently ranked amongst the top academic institutions in Japan. Its research achievements and contributions, coupled with its wide network of collaborative partners, led to it being one of the first institutions to be conferred the status of a Designated National University by the Japanese government in June 2017



Hideo Ohno

President

■Education:

1982, Ph.D., Electronic Engineering, University of Tokyo 1979, M.S., Electronic Engineering, University of Tokyo 1977, B.S., Electronic Engineering, University of Tokyo

■Professional Experience:

2018-, The 22nd President of Tohoku University 2016-2018, Director, Center for Spintronics Research Network, Tohoku University 2013-2018, Director, Research Institute of Electrical Communication, Tohoku University 2012-2018, Professor, Center for Innovative Integrated Electronic Systems, Tohoku University 2012-2013, Director, Laboratory of Nanoelectronics and Spintronics, Research Institute of Electrical Communication, **Tohoku University** 2010-2018, Principal Investigator, WPI-Advanced Institute for Materials Research 2010-2018, Director, Center for Spintronics Integrated Systems, Tohoku University 2004-2010, Director, Laboratory of Nanoelectronics and Spintronics, Research Institute of Electrical Communication, **Tohoku University** 1995-2018, Professor, Research Institute of Electrical Communication, Tohoku University 1994, Professor, Department of Electronic Engineering, **Tohoku University** 1988-1990, Visiting Scientist, IBM T. J. Watson Research Center, New York, USA 1983-1994, Associate Professor, Department of Electrical Engineering, Hokkaido University 1982-1983, Lecturer, Department of Electrical Engineering, Hokkaido University

■Awards

Honorary Degree of Doctor, University of York, 2024 Doctor Honoris Causa, University of Warsaw, 2023 Doctorat Honoris Causa, Universite de Lorraine, France, 2022 IEEE Magnetics Society Achievement Award 2022 International Fellow, Royal Swedish Academy of Engineering Sciences (IVA), 2021 JSAP Paper Award 2019 ISCS Welker Award 2019 Fellow, Institute of Electrical and Electronics Engineers (IEEE) 2018 MEXT Commendation for Science and Technology 2017 C&C Prize 2016 Leo Esaki Prize 2016 DPS Paper Award 2016 JSAP Compound Semiconductor Electronics Achievement Award 2015 IEEE David Sarnoff Award 2012 JSAP Outstanding Achievement Award 2012 Distinguished Professor, Tohoku University 2011 Thomson Reuters Citation Laureates, 2011 IEEE Magnetics Society, Distinguished Lecturer 2009 Distinguished Professor, Tohoku University 2008 Honorary Professor, Institute of Semiconductors, Chinese Academy of Sciences, 2006 The 2005 Agilent Technologies Europhysics Prize, 2005 Presidential Prize for Research Excellence, 2005 Japan Academy Prize, 2005 Fellow, Institute of Physics, 2004 **IUPAP** Magnetism Prize, 2003 IBM Japan Science Award, 1998

Research Field
Spintronics

■Summary

Professor Hideo Ohno received the Ph.D. degree from the University of Tokyo in 1982.

He is currently the 22nd President of Tohoku University. He was Director of Research Institute of Electrical Communication, Tohoku University, Director of Center for Spintronics Integrated System, Tohoku University, Principal Investigator of WPI Advanced Institute for Materials Research, Tohoku University, Professor of Center for Innovative Integrated Electronic Systems, Tohoku University and Director of Center for Spintronics Research Network, Tohoku University. His current research interests include physics and applications of spin phenomena in semiconductors and metal-based nanostructures. Professor Ohno received the IBM Japan Science Award (1998), the IUPAP Magnetism Prize (2003), Japan Academy Prize (2005), Presidential Prize for Research Excellence, Tohoku University (2005) and the 2005 Agilent Technologies Europhysics Prize. He has been a fellow of the Institute of Physics (IOP) since 2004, an honorary professor of Institute of Semiconductors, Chinese Academy of Sciences since 2006, a fellow of the Japan Society of Applied Physics (JSAP) since 2007, a fellow of American Physical Society (APS) since 2012, a fellow of Institute of Electrical and Electronics Engineers since 2018, an International Fellow of the Royal Swedish Academy of Engineering Sciences (IVA) since 2021, in 2022, he was awarded a Doctorat Honoris Causa by Université de Lorraine, in 2023, a Doctor Honoris Causa by University of Warsaw, and in 2024, a Honorary Degree of Doctor by University of York. IEEE Magnetics Society named him for the Distinguished Lecturer for 2009. He was awarded the Thomson Reuters Citation Laureate (2011), the JSAP Outstanding Achievement Award, IEEE David Sarnoff Award (2012), JSAP Compound Semiconductor Electronics Achievement Award (2015), DPS Paper Award (2016), Leo Esaki Prize (2016), C&C Prize (2016), MEXT Commendation for Science and Technology (2017), ISCS Welker Award (2019), JSAP Paper Award (2019) and IEEE Magnetics Society Achievement Award (2022). He was appointed as the Distinguished Professor at Tohoku University.