New Year's Concert with the Vienna Symphony Orchestra's Johann Strauss Ensemble

A Tohoku University Kawauchi Hagi Hall Four Seasons Event

Tohoku University's Four Seasons Programme presents a New Year's Concert with the Johann Strauss Ensemble of the Vienna Symphony Orchestra.

The ensemble was founded by 12 musicians from the Vienna Symphony Orchestra in 1965, with the intention of reviving traditional instrumentation. Their focus is on an authentic and typically Viennese interpretation of music, as well as Viennese classic dance music.

Annual concert tours to Japan began in 1989, and continue to be a fixed date on their concert calendar. Next January, the ensemble - led by concertmaster Anton Sorokow and joined by soprano Claudia Goebl - will bring the best of the Viennese waltzes to Sendai.

Date: Saturday, January 7
Time: 2pm
Venue: Kawauchi Hagi Hall (Map)


Johann Strauss II: Annen-Polka, Waltzes - The Blue Danube, Voices of Spring
Sarasate: Zigeunerweisen
Tchaikovsky: Waltz of the Flowers
*The programme is subject to change.

Performed by:

The Vienna Symphony Orchestra's Johann Strauss Ensemble
Concertmaster: Anton Sorokow
Soprano: Claudia Goebl

S seat: 5,500 yen, A seat: 4,500 yen, Student (university and under): 2,000 yen *limited sales*

On sale at 6F Fujisaki Omachi-kan, B1 Mitsukoshi Main Building, Sakurano 8F.
Kahoku Ticket Center: Tel 022-211-1189 (10am~2pm)
*Student tickets can only be purchased at the Kahoku Ticket Center or at the venue.

Special ticket sales for Alumni Association Members:
S seat 4,500 yen
To find out more about registering for alumni association membership at 1,000 yen per annum, see the website here:


External Relations Office

Page Top