Designated National University

Tohoku University was recognised as one of the country's top three institutions by the Japanese Government in June 2017.

A new future for Tohoku

Tohoku University, along with the University of Tokyo and Kyoto University, received confirmation of its new status from the Japanese Government in June 2017. The three were chosen from among 86 national universities in the country.

The conferment of the Designated National University title is a recognition of the university's abilities to lead and shape global education and research. The new status provides the university with a better platform to further contribute to communities at home and abroad.

As a Designated National University, we will have the means to further internationalize our education, reinforce our research capabilities and push ahead with structural reforms to make us even more competitive. The upcoming Advanced Graduate School and the Organization for Advanced Studies - both of which will provide increased opportunities for international academic and industry collaborations - are expected to play key roles in the support of local and global communities.



The DNU in Brief

  • Click here to download an overview of the DNU status and what it means.
Page Top